silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Switch

Still sick. I'm getting really tired of this.

R used to say that, I'm getting really tired of this. Eff him. Apparently he also already bought his ticket to New York in may. I half didn't want him to go though and half really wanted an excuse to see him and be wonderful and look wonderful and happy and semi ignore him and show him how I've obviously moved on and have zero emotion towards him anymore.

Right.

Yesterday I went on an "interview" although it really wasn't an interview. It was kind of apparent that I could have the job if I wanted it. So here's the details: it's a non-profit community clinic that right now had a childrens base but they want a general dentist for adults. It's for people with little to no income and/or little to no dental insurance coverage. Basically Medicaid based. The patients pay off of a sliding fee scale based on their income and household. So it's not a money making clinic by any means. Which, yes I obviously want to make more money, but I also kind of wanted to work in this type of community clinic in the first place. So for now, I can work there on Fridays, starting at the end of the month when the clinic opens (still being put together). The way I see it, and it's going to take a lot of thought to figure out how i want to work, is that I'd work there a couple days and in private practice a few days, and it can all balance out? But I want to leave the place that I'm at. I'm just not happy with the way they treat their employees, inclusive. Although I don't get the brunt of the yells and the demands, I am not being fairly compensated, and I'm the one doing basically all of the damn work aside from what hygiene does. I'm fairly certain that I should be taking home at least 40% more than what I'm getting due to the things that they don't pay me for, and that they've clearly stated they will not budge on. So I just sit there and say okay, cool. I have zero say in the matter and the work environment is often tense...is it worth it? No. I deserve better and I'm worth better dammit. I'm nobody's bitch. I also desire a more diverse patient population than these middle-to-upper class people who believe they deserve the world in a freaking dental appointment, because that's what they are accustomed to there. Hand waxes, cushy pillows, blankets, coffee and tea (while they are being treated?!?! At least let me finish before you restain your damn teeth), can you reheat my coffee?, can I have extra this and that? I don't like to be leaned back all the way...or at all, so instead can you damage your back and work on me in contorted ways that will have you seeing a chiropractor sooner than later? And I'd like extra cookies please!

I'm fine to work and work with a damn smile, but can we please let dentistry be dentistry? I want to help people, not pamper them. I'd rather leave that to the Hollywood dentists who are getting paid big bucks in the first place. Plus I think the owner just doesnt give a shit at all anymore. So she needs to just sell the damn place already.

I'm about to go into an ongoing rant so I'm going to just stop there.

So I'm just looking for something that's right for me is all. Something that fits my personality. If it means I keep bouncing around until I find the right place(s), then so be it. Except I am signing a one year contract with this new place... But for just Fridays is not that big a deal. I can rock that, and if I bring home any money from that, then I can figure out if I want more days from there.

As for today, can I please get rid of this damn cold already???

6:56 a.m. - 2011-04-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alethia
minstrelite
opposure
goose-girl
hematidrosis
omfggwtf
raygirl999
ericg
permeation
englishsucks
duplicitous
starscream77
sntheticlove
athenyx
newschick
ninabean
evilyoyo
wafa27
simeons-twin
warpednormal
deathoffsure
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
avantbedroc