silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's time!

I know everyone in dland world is absolutely excited to hear this, so here goes:
This week is the American Dental Association's Annual Session in Las vegas!!
Yes!!!
I know! Amazing!!
Meeting every year (hence annual) in a different city, the ADA frequents las Vegas and san Francisco as their two main locations, with places like Hawaii, Texas, and Chicago (headquarters) as other semi common spots. But yes, the ADA loves las Vegas, as do several conventions, because we really do have great, large convention centers in the hotels.
So right now, there are thousands (50,000 approx estimated appearance over the week) dentists swarming the city from all over the nation. Hopefully nobody out there has a dental emergency this week, because offices may be closed due to your dentist out here kicking it with me. Yes, I am a volunteer for some of the courses, little old me is going to be hanging around in a white shirt and some khaki bottoms with a fancy yellow sash on, introducing some of the people lecturing our dear continuing Ed courses. I hope they give me a microphone. And by the way, I hate public speaking. I have a weird ass voice in my opinion, and it gets a little wavery in front of crowds. I was honestly considering taking a drink before my duties, but I don't feel like being an alkie at 8 am. I have been told though that I sound just fine when I've done presentations etc, but with those things I do tend to lend a massive amount of my ever-delightful sarcasm and personality, and that's what people respond to. I just need to know that this duty isn't for a grade and I won't be judged on it. I just say my fancy little lines with a smile and be the absolutely adorable mini dentist that I am, and it will be lovely!

Yes, this whole entry will be about dental joy. Feel free to quit if you haven't already. But remember, my dental school experience was mixed with a lot of partying and drinking.

So I had an orientation last night for our duties, and what lovely faces did I see there but some faculty from my dental school! So I was hugs galore and super happy to see them. Yes, everyone in the predental forums thinks that there is something in the water that my classmates and faculty drink, because we are s crew of super happy, smiling fools, and we all absolutely love our school and our experience. So I see my teachers and I'm all akdheieje hiiiii!!! And they are happy to see me too :) I saw my favorite instructor from first year, who only teaches a first year course once a week, but she is my favorite throughout the years and I have always loved seeing her. She is an amazing dr and educator; i strive to be like her. She is my homie. Lost her in the crowd but I will see her over the week. And in my volunteer group was another dr who I worked with a decent amount but didn't have a personal relationship with, and I ended up spending time talking to just him after our orientation was over. For three hours. Of course, he is a bit older than me (all the male dr's who I kinda chat it up with are generally in their 50's), and at this point I am beyond used to talking (flirting?) with them. We had four drinks each, starting at the comp bar for our reception then hit a hotel bar to chat it up some more. I really love seeing these people and hanging out and being seen as something beyond their student. The school makes it a point to treat their students with respect and as equals. I mean, yeah, some go a little beyond that, with some of the major hit ons that I got the last couple years at the school (and could I forget down to the actual hotel room number), but in general there is a comfortable level of respect. And myself being a stand-out student at the school for my own personal reasons (ahem...only black student in my class...), they all pretty much knew me. I do have such an amazing personality and presence though as well, I don't attribute my reason to be acknowledged to be based solely on my personal demographics. Anyways, I was very happy to bond with this guy. He mentioned how he was glad to see me and to be able to get to know me more, and that there are some faculty members (namely the ethics guy) who discourages interpersonal relationships with the faculty and students beyond educational. Which honestly is a load of crap because I am so grateful to have the relationships with the dr's that I do have. I believe it makes us more comfortable as students to talk to them and ask their opinions and feedback, and I really respect the ones I know closer more than I do others because they actually did give a shit to get to know me and help me grow. It's like an extended family. Or an extended friendship. I have my real family, my closest friends, and then the them in order of my love. Or whatever it is.

Aside from that, of course comes the influx of schoolmates in to the city for the ADA, but more importantly in their eyes, to be on a list at a club every single night in Vegas. And so continues the party, the insanity, the incessant texts, the unnecessary day-drinking and over-drinking. The pre-parties and the sheer ridiculousness of it all. Yes, I did go out Saturday night, and brought a straggler home with me. I had one girl already staying with me, and took home a guy who lost his crew, also a friend of course. I honestly rarely socialize with people that I don't know when I go to clubs. Sucks for the guys who hit on me. But yes, it was cute because they both were completely knocked out as I was driving us home. I gradually turned the radio volume lower to off as I lost their awareness, which I often find myself doing when I have drunkies in the car. Then sent them to bed with glasses of water, and made pancakes and fried potatoes for them for breakfast. I'm an awesome host.

Okay. Well yes. I am excited for all the fun stuff that comes with the dental meeting. All the vendors with their products, all the samples and the full sized toothpaste and rinses and toothbrushes. Fluoride samples and floss and bonding agents and other exciting materials...and yes, I truly am excited for all of this. My friends and I were oohing and aahing over one guy's new diamond clean Sonicare toothbrush that can be charged via USB. Amazing!

Yes. I am a dork. And I love it. I wouldn't trade my self and my being for anything.

And on that note, I will try to go back to sleep. Big things happening in a few short hours. I would like to use what's left of my sleep for that beauty sleep.

3:27 a.m. - 2011-10-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

opposure
journalmine
alethia
goose-girl
enurta
hematidrosis
ericg
raygirl999
lostasyou
omfggwtf
permeation
englishsucks
duplicitous
newschick
sntheticlove
avantbedroc
athenyx
warpednormal
ninabean
evilyoyo
simeons-twin
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
starscream77