silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fun times

Wednesday morning, I'm working on my first patient. It's just before 8:30, I mention to my favorite assistant that this is the only peaceful moment of the day, before all the other staff and patients come around. Ten minutes later, as we are working away, I mention that I feel dizzy. I finish up the patient and go to the back and eat a banana, drink some water and some muscle milk. I start walking back towards the patients and stop myself against a wall, feeling uneasy. I think Hm, I wonder if the assistants are all current on CPR... I start walking again and go back to the room where we were working at. I look around and see that the other patients aren't ready for me yet, X-rays etc being taken. I start feeling light headed and I mention it again to my girl. She looks at me all concerned but I say I'm okay. I start walking away and I get dizzy and sit back down for a minute. I am told a patient is ready and I stand up and try to walk, and I'm caught off guard. A different assistant is with me, and asks if I'm okay. I'm confused, dizzy, light again, and I feel like I'm going to faint. I see specks of black and I duck back into the other room where my first assistant is facing the other direction. I try to get her attention and she rushes to me and asks what's wrong. My heartbeat starts racing, I have frantic breathing and my head feels cloudy and just wrong. They take my blood pressure, it's like 130/110. Wtf? They get me water, I'm holding my head and trying to slow my breathing. I don't know what the hell is going on. A few minutes later I feel controlled, and I say okay, I can work, I'm good. I stand up, take a step, and it rushes back over me. I sit and start crying because I can't control it. They grab me and walk me to the quick care emergency room, conveniently located right next door to our clinic. My heart racing still, me crying (and I'm too proud to cry under normal circumstances mind you), I'm utterly confused and barely mobile without someone holding me. I get to the ER and they start checking me out, my symptoms are apparently too vague to lead to anything. I felt perfectly fine right before the attack, I did the same daily routine as always. I ate my oatmeal, had my coffee. Didn't even finish half a cup of the coffee. I get oxygen placed on me, I'm seeing things floating in my eyes. My blood pressure changes to 145/95. Eventually I calm down, but I can't sit up without feeling light and dizzy again. They call for an ambulance to get me to take me to the main hospital. My office manager calls my dad and sister, and soon enough I'm at the main hospital with my parents and two sisters.

They throw in an IV, test my blood sugar. Nothing odd. I'm there from about 10-4. I get chest X-rays, whatever. I'm feeling perfectly fine around 12 but I'm waiting around for a doctor until about 2:30. Finally arrives, asks me the same questions that everyone else did. At this point I want to leave, I feel it is just a random scare. They find a previously undiagnosed heart murmur, no biggie. EKG's show I have normal patterns. However apparently maybe, MAYBE something is off, they are just guessing at this point, and say I should follow up with a cardiologist. I leave around 4 and apologize to my family who showed up and is terrified to see me there. I say it was just a scare, no idea what it was, no idea what provoked it, no idea how to prevent it. But I am deemed fragile and nobody wants me to go to work the rest of the week, nor walk two feet on my own. So I skip work thursday, but I cant bear to lose a third day of work in my current financial situation. So much to everyone's objection, I worked today.

Called a cardiologist who my boss referred me to, made an appointment for next Friday. My dad found out about one who did some friend's heart surgery without leaving chest scars. I say that I am fine and I don't need heart surgery. I highly doubt anything is wrong with me. I truly think it was just an isolated incident. An absolutely scary incident... But I will get tested and checked out.

That's about it! That is my update. Yay 30? Good to know that regarding my health...I know nothing.

7:58 p.m. - 2012-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

puresunsh1ne
lostasyou
enurta
opposure
omfggwtf
alethia
goose-girl
hematidrosis
raygirl999
journalmine
cloudy-night
permeation
englishsucks
starscream77
athenyx
ericg
duplicitous
avantbedroc
sntheticlove
evilyoyo
ninabean
newschick
warpednormal
simeons-twin
fragilegirl8