silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No candy takers

Living in an apartment complex sucks for Halloween. I learned this last year. I wasn't sure what the turnout would be, so I only bought two small bags of candy last year. That ended up to be two bags too many. Apparently nobody wanders through. I would've loved to give candy out to the kids. Instead I ate it myself and brought the bulk of it to the office. Lesson learned though. I didn't buy any candy this year, and I had not a single knock. Not disappointing though. Glad I didn't buy anything, because I have gained way too much weight, and that candy sitting in my apartment would have been absolutely dangerous. Just like alcohol is. Except, props to me, I didn't have a single drop of wine today. Most days I have at least one glass. Today, I kept myself busy and distracted. Tried to stick to the water, which I did, along with green tea. I read about the metabolic benefits of green tea and how it can help with weight loss. I know it isn't a miracle and I have to keep active and eat right, but anything adjunctive is accepted.

I also don't buy soda, but I bought two 12-packs for the book club party I am hosting on Friday. I know one friend drinks soda and is breast feeding, so alcohol isn't her strong suit right now. It was a byob invitation (I didn't pull it together, I just offered my place), but I already have a large amount of beer and a variety of other alcoholic beverages available, so I will be stocked. I miss hosting parties. I should have more company come over. Crappy thing is that it is just a one bedroom apartment...but the living room is very spacious, so that works. I am looking forward to the book club meeting because it is something social. I need social, I need to be around other people. All this dental stress is driving me crazy, all my thoughts and ideas and new considerations. All the continuing ed courses I have been taking lately, the traveling for more education, the financial hit I take for doing so. I need a damn break. I just need a break. I need to stop going to classes for a while, at least avoid the big ones that are pricey and require travel. After December, I need to stay home for any courses. I might go back to SF in march for the alumni association meeting, but otherwise I need to stay put. Stay put and read fantastical fictional stories about zombies and the like. I enjoyed the mental break that that book gave me. It's so much better than reading about restorative materials and all that bullshit. I'm tired of reading about loans and office layouts and supplies and staffing and business plans and financing and all of that. I'm tired. I am just plain tired. Give me a damn teenage zombie book. I don't care if the characters are 16 years old and I'm 30.

The next book better involve some other damn monster or creature or love nonsense. I don't care what it is, as long as I don't have to think.

Happy Halloween dland!

11:12 p.m. - 2012-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
lanienaked
puresunsh1ne
deflective
enurta
lostasyou
journalmine
opposure
goose-girl
alethia
duplicitous
hematidrosis
ericg
permeation
starscream77
avantbedroc
raygirl999
athenyx
sntheticlove
omfggwtf
ninabean
newschick
evilyoyo
simeons-twin
warpednormal
fragilegirl8
cloudy-night
englishsucks