silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Painting and dating

I have a friend, IO, who is a very sweet girl. A friend by association with AV whom I have known for maybe 12-13 years. We hang out, we have done some runs together, we do some events, random little things together, as we are the outsiders who are single and without children. She is 28. Well, we did one of the painting parties last night ("Wine and Canvas Las Vegas"), as I had a groupon for it that I needed to use up. It is also a good time to catch up on our personal lives. AV had "warned" me more or less, a few hours before, that she had just that afternoon managed to set up a date between her brother in law and IO. That's all good by me, I think they would be really cute together, and I am 100% for it. Only thing is, not that it should be an issue, he and I hooked up a few times maybe 4 or 5 years ago. He used to have a crush on me but I was dating D1 10 years ago, or I had a crush on him but he was dating someone, or we were never really good with timing with one another. I moved to SF for school, so we weren't in the same city...it just never was right, and then I moved back but he was dating someone... So we had hooked up a couple times though, but then i felt bad because it was semi misleading (around 2008-9 I believe.. JL. Documented in here somewhere along the way), and we all know how I am, I can kind of get preoccupied with myself. I was in school at the time, and there was no way I was going to attempt a long distance anything. Anyways, we kind of just let it fade, never really addressed it, but we are cool and not awkward around one another. Everyone knows we hooked up, it's no secret, it sucks that nothing came to, but he's too good for me, and I would hate to be the person I am to him. He knows me, of course, but I think I'm not a good person at times, and he deserves much better than me. He deserves a girl like IO. Now, when I say that "everyone knows" about us, well crap...guess IO doesn't, because before the last two years, she hadn't really hung around myself or JL much.

Hm. Well. Crap.

For some reason, she seems to admire me to an extent. She also does not know how much I ...let's say... throw myself out there? Not that I am "slutty", but I am not shy. You know my deal and my ways by now. Anyways, well she knows I have my interests in CW etc, she knows I go on dates, she knows I go out a lot, but we aren't super close that we are talking like every day or anything. She is a good Christian girl, I believe she has only slept with one guy, her ex who she dated for 7 years. Listens to Christian music, and good for her, doesn't know much about the popular music that is out. All these basic songs were playing on the radio and she was like "wow you know so many songs!" but they are always on...or even "your love" by the outfield was playing and she was like nope, never heard of it... I told her that CW and I did karaoke to "total eclipse of the heart" and she said nope, never heard it. Has never been to a club here in Vegas, wouldn't go to concerts (I invited her), basically...we wouldn't be found in the same circle if it weren't for AV, but we get along sooo well. I respect her, I would protect her and she rocks. She is a great person and friend. Anyways!!!...
Super digress, way off subject, background there: she is pure, makes me look like dirt. So casual sex is not to be discussed with her, she thinks it is gross; I knew from basic interactions with her not to divulge certain things about myself voluntarily, unless of course she asks me. I will totally be honest, I won't lie about who or how I am, I have no shame. But I will share details as requested. So it has never come up about my relationship with JL, because there was never a reason for it. She only barely spoke with him like one time in July for a birthday party we were all at, that's it. That day, and now for this upcoming date. So I said that I think they would be a great match, and I'm excited for her.. They would be great, really...but I don't want her to get hurt by that information about our past. If they click and the relationship goes somewhere, he may have to be honest about it at some point. She might ask him about his past relationships... I am somewhat afraid of how she will react towards both of us. I love our blossoming friendship, we do fun things together. We are taking swim lessons together starting next weekend (except I can't go to the first one now grr but for good reason), and I just really like her. But if and when she finds out, I don't know how well she will take it. I am potentially worrying for no reason. Maybe they won't click and it will be all clear. But I think they will. I told AV that there was no way I was going to bring it up, and she said JL won't either, but I might have to talk to him before their date just to be on the same page. Ugh.

Yeaaaa...don't be like me...

So I am missing that first swim class because I signed up for a booth at this upcoming bridal spectacular show next weekend. They said they don't have a dentist signed on yet, which rocks, and perfect timing for me! It is an effort for marketing, I am desperate to get some people in, and we are going to offer a few specials. One I think/hope will work is bring in your wedding party for half off whitening trays (value $250, they pay $125 each), and then the bride and groom get theirs for free, with the flyer, or they give us the bride's name, etc. Gotta figure out how to work that one. And then like save $500 off of Invisalign and 25% off of veneers for non-insured patients. That's it so far, I was trying to aim for cosmetic stuff that wedding parties would be interested in. So hopefully that gets some good hits. It's supposed to be about 1500 brides registered for the event. And if it turns out to be a success, we will totally sign up for it again next time. They do it like twice a year. I went before, in like 2005 maybe, with AV before her wedding. I am a pro at this. Geez. I have been in five weddings! My gosh. Bring on the next.

So yeah. There is my update for now. I will check in with JL before their date. He knew we were doing the painting party, she told him, so I know he is likely thinking exactly as I am.

And wow, they are on point! They already posted our pictures and paintings on their Facebook site. Lovely. They put up a good one of me that I will have to steal. And a bad one of me in the background that I will completely disregard. This whole "wine and painting" thing has caught on well in Vegas, it is a popular group thing to do. If they do this stuff in your city, you should check it out. It would probably be a good bonding date thing to do, too. It's like 3 hours, and I believe all the ones I have done have been via groupon or livingsocial coupons. But they are cheap. Anyways. I'm supposed to go with CW next week, I really hope he still wants to go. If he bails on me, IO said she will come with me to it.

(But I really want him to go)

(Dammit I'm pathetic when it comes to him)

I'm working on it. Oh, met some guy online who seemed decent. I will check in with him tomorrow and maybe we can chat it up.

Ok. I really want to sleep. It's not happening quite yet. 3:42 a.m. Grrr... I did pass out for an hour or so when I went to bed. But yeah...yep. Here I am. Okay, good night/morn.

2:39 a.m. - 2014-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

takenbytrees
lanienaked
jarofporter
igotsprung
puresunsh1ne
deflective
enurta
lostasyou
journalmine
opposure
goose-girl
alethia
permeation
omfggwtf
ericg
englishsucks
starscream77
duplicitous
avantbedroc
athenyx
hematidrosis
sntheticlove
evilyoyo
ninabean
newschick
simeons-twin
warpednormal
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
raygirl999