silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is why I'm considered a machine

I have spent the last four days, from beginning to end, like 6 am to well past midnight each day, engulfed in the chaos that is the world of dental conventions. Phone calls and emails and meetings and more meetings and power walking through the levels and the maze of a layout of the Mandalay bay convention center. My car can probably drive itself to the hotel with all the times I went there over the week. My toes are blistered, my feet are numb. All the fluid in my nervous and circulatory system has been replaced by coffee and alcohol. My sleep cycle has shut down and no longer trusts me when I say I will sleep or wake. My mind is riddled with speeches and verification codes, and I'm accustomed to a reception and automatic drinking at the end of the day with colleagues I haven't seen in months to a year or so and never letting go of my cell phone due to putting in numbers and making connections and texting and coordinating meeting places with swarms of people and passing out and doing it again. And I love every minute of it. I ate fancy expensive food at a French restaurant where there just happened to be a top chef from France visiting. I don't speak a word of French, but I'm in a couple pictures with him and the couple I was with. Drinking fancy wine and drinks and not paying for a dime of it. I probably don't even have to say at this point that I was told by yet another older married dr dude about how amazing he thinks I am and blah blah how he's always been drawn to me blah blah. And his wife was there, who I also love and she loves me; they both do and we spent hours just the three of us after the end of the last reception, which apparently totaled $16,000 credited to the schools alumni association. And the guy is super touchy affectionate and not in an inappropriate way but just enough to make you wonder if he's trying to say something with his hands. But like oddly kinda acceptable because the wife is there too just chilling and laughing and enjoying it all and la dee da, and then with like goodbyes and the guy telling me more how wonderful I am and about his attraction to me, he kisses me on the lips and Im like um okay? It seemed like he's just extra, extra outwardly affectionate?? I left there in a frenzy to zoom home and change to go to a club and meet up with the crew, where I am mega hit on by another guy closer to my age who has flirted with me before and his brother is pushing me to hook up with him, but he is just awkward and has zero game and wins the award for the inappropriate ass grabs, as I am still frazzled from being massaged and kissed by the older guy, not to mention friends massaging my back in the club but I'm too distracted with the madness of absolutely everything to figure out whose hands are on me.

And swarming the dental marketplace vendors and being pulled in one direction or another and people trying to get you to buy their products or take their samples and then discounts and bulk purchase of items for thousands and thousands of dollars (which umm yea no not me. Poor dr over here). Although I needed new magnification glasses, so I was prepared to purchase those ($2300 ouch! Payments broken up though by three phew). The newest Sonicare toothbrush for $60 versus the $200 retail I think it is in stores. Deals and deals and teeth and mouths and meeting or seeing from afar some of the people who are the famous top names in dentistry (as yes, I do aspire to be...once I get good. Hang in there dland it might take some twenty years, but you might be the privileged ones to know all about the famous dentist that is me. You'd have a lot of dirt on me though so please don't turn on me). It's like a Hollywood of dentistry...which btw I've never been but apparently I made plans to go to LA next month?

I know. There is zero fluidity in this entry. Every day blended into the next; last night I slept two hours and basically drove feeling residual drunkenness back to the hotel for my morning assignment today. Worked and power walked and coffeed up and slept an hour in my car in the parking garage to try to muster up the energy needed for the next five plus hours of crazy.

Volunteering was madness. The partying was madness. The connections were madness and the situations were madness. I told everyone that volunteering is the most draining part.

The ADA session is in sf next year. I told the committee which is composed of people from my school that I'd sign up to volunteer.

Bring it.

11:10 p.m. - 2011-10-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

opposure
journalmine
alethia
goose-girl
enurta
hematidrosis
ericg
raygirl999
lostasyou
omfggwtf
permeation
englishsucks
duplicitous
newschick
sntheticlove
avantbedroc
athenyx
warpednormal
ninabean
evilyoyo
simeons-twin
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
starscream77