silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chugging along

Well... I feel the need for an update, but honestly there isn't much interesting to say. I guess I could talk about my project? The relationship? Work?

The property that I like for my project is getting a little up there with the landlord. My lease guy has been working hard on getting something decently agreed upon, but these people are asking for a lot more in rent because it's a pretty awesome spot basically. Like it is getting upwards of $5000/mo for me. Ummmmmmm.... That's ridiculous. Especially for a startup without a following. I'm not transferring patients like a relocation, I'm starting from zero. How the hell would I be happy shelling out $5000 a month without knowing that I could provide it easily? So they have two other potential suites available, one slightly smaller in size and another way too big, so I told lease guy that I want to work on the smaller space now. It's going from 1900-2100 sqft down to 1600, which isn't bad at all. And the rent on that would be almost half due to it's location, nothing to do with size. In fact, if I chose the significantly larger space (2600), it would cost about $1000 less than the initial location. So we are now going to work that angle.

Exciting stuff, right? I am quite bored talking about it myself. Other improvements/progressions would be that I am getting equipment and layout/design going. Not too much, but had a nice meeting with my main supply company, and they are shipping me out to I think Costa Mesa in a month to check out their warehouse of dental units, chairs, handpieces, X-ray equipment, everything. Samples of designs and cabinetry and flooring and blah blah blah. I am aiming for the cheapest damn nice looking practice possible. In talking to those people today, I swear the dollar signs were jumping out of their eyes, as they kept reassuring me that it'll be "my way" and how I want it yada yada. Umm yea, no way am I letting anyone else direct my design or my equipment choices. I plan on getting several things from other sources, so that's something I have to coordinate. It is exciting overall. I just wear myself out when I am sitting around for hours on end researching and checking on pricing and making lists and going through all of my crap and references. I was even working on a logo, trying to pull together an image to go with the name of the practice. I've had my name chosen for years. I tried to change it or think of anything else, but I just can't shake it. Who knows though. I have a few (couple?) months to get that decision finalized before I get branding going.

What was next...ah yes. Bf. ummm nothing new. He is still as he is. Hardheaded and unaware. He's going out of town this weekend with his friends for something I have cared less of to even remember. A party? A wedding? A sporting event? I don't recall what he said. I just say cool, you do you, I do me. Enjoy. I won't miss him. I don't care. I have my own life. Yes I love the damn guy blah blah blah. But he is just terrible at putting appropriate focus to his supposed relationship. So I have no interest in focusing on it either. I am interested in my life and having fun and doing what makes me happy. And when he's done acting up and being lame, and ready to mature and resume his time with me, he can let me know. I'm not desperate for him, I'm not chasing him to pay attention to me. He texts me and says how much he misses me. So? What can one possibly do about that....? Oh yeah, see me, fucker! I don't say the same to him, I kinda steer away from the subject and very superficially say have fun with your friends. I just don't care enough right now to care. Does that make sense? Sure.

And work. Ahhh work. That lovely thing I do every now and then. I suppose I have a job, huh? Whatever. They are doing so many weird changes. I'm not sure what's gonna happen to the place. The company has another office, the original one that's been open maybe 8 years with a male doctor being the only one there. People from the university's pediatric residency program go to that office every Thursday as part of their education. I never see them because I don't go there. Well apparently, this doctor is supposed to start coming in on Thursdays with the residents, to work... While myself and the other general dentist are there at the same time... Now considering the fact that there isn't really enough work for two doctors to get a fair split on a regular day, what makes them think having three doctors and a handful of residents is going to do??? Everybody just sees three patients for the day? And the assistants told me that the boss is hiring a hygienist also. We have such a terrible recall/recare system. I have no idea how they are going to keep the hygiene schedule full. And I think another one or two doctors also are coming in to start soon. Maybe they are closing the other office or something, because they already take all the assistants away from that place on Tuesdays now, so they are shutting down that day, and whatever is happening for Thursdays. Not my problem though I guess. They are very unorganized and need structure and systems there, and I am not the one to help them. I have to do my own.

The place is interesting to say the least. And so I continue with just my planning and eat popcorn as I watch that office struggle with the mess that I told them to fix a long time ago but they said I was wrong. Other doctors keep telling me that it is just too much disorder with the front office and so much stuff is done incorrectly and that they are having a tough time handling it and communicating with the front office, or getting some of the back office girls to stop just standing around chatting and come out and work instead. A lot of things that I have told the boss, and she says that it is just me basically, and I have to handle it differently. No, it's actually every doctor who comes into that practice sees it, but those people aren't as vocal to the upper management as I have been.

Anyways. On to my day. I have a lot to do. Lots of paperwork and a couple phone calls. Sigh. Okie dokie. Thus concludes my update. Going out to some grand opening of a new restaurant on the strip tonight. Comped bottle and comped dinner for a bunch of us. So yes, I can easily distract myself away from the bf's unnoticed ignorance. I have several things of my own to do. Yay.

Have an awesome day out there!

8:08 a.m. - 2013-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

takenbytrees
lanienaked
jarofporter
igotsprung
puresunsh1ne
deflective
enurta
lostasyou
journalmine
opposure
goose-girl
alethia
permeation
omfggwtf
ericg
englishsucks
starscream77
duplicitous
avantbedroc
athenyx
hematidrosis
sntheticlove
evilyoyo
ninabean
newschick
simeons-twin
warpednormal
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
raygirl999