silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wonderful!

I have a book from a class from undergrad, some psychology course. I rarely ever sold back my textbooks, regardless of the course. I would have returned my math books perhaps, if I took any college math courses (I got calculus credit from high school AP, was never required to take anything beyond that).

Anyways. This book, there is a line. In summary, it tells a brief story about a girl, like two lines. It says something like the girl tells her mom, "Mommy, let's go play a game of darts. I will throw the darts, and you say, 'wonderful!' " Then it says that we all need someone to tell us that we are wonderful in life.

I came across the book a couple days ago, hadn't opened it in over a decade. That page was starred and the paragraph was highlighted.

It gets me, as it did before, because it's about confidence and affirmation, approval from others. The surrounding paragraphs discuss self-esteem and self-image, and to not harbor negativity because it can weigh you down, and sometimes we need people to tell us that we are doing a good job, even if we already know it, but especially if we don't.

I was told that I don't take compliments well. That is true. I don't believe people when they say certain nice things about me. Because then I think, well if I'm so damn great, why am I in this situation? Whichever situation, be it relationships, work, whatever. I am a terrible self-critic.

Well, that is negative. Unintentionally.

The point is, someone is going to say "wonderful!" and tell me that I did a great job. Or that I am doing a great job. I hear it, I do. They tell me. My parents. My friends, my sisters. I hear it, but I don't hear it.

I want to sleep.

12:06 a.m. - 2014-09-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

takenbytrees
lanienaked
jarofporter
igotsprung
puresunsh1ne
deflective
enurta
lostasyou
journalmine
opposure
goose-girl
alethia
permeation
omfggwtf
ericg
englishsucks
starscream77
duplicitous
avantbedroc
athenyx
hematidrosis
sntheticlove
evilyoyo
ninabean
newschick
simeons-twin
warpednormal
cloudy-night
fragilegirl8
raygirl999