silver4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work

The extern stares at me while we are working. I can feel her eyes burning on me. I want to scream and tell her to stop staring. Yes, I get it. I'm kinda young, but there are people 5+ years younger than me who are dentists. Yet she finds me fascinating. That plus the fact that I speak Spanish fluently, and that I just learned it to learn. And that I am single and blah blah blah. Still trying to push me onto her brother, who with more discussion has become less and less of a catch (not that he was one in the first place). He doesn't think he has to clean up because he is a man, he only gets to see one of his kids because the mother of the other kid "hates him" but wants him to pay child support (which...yea I think he should..but I also think he should be able to see the kid. Personally, I think if he doesn't see the kid, it may be his own fault. Because if you want to see your kids, you will. That's my opinion, I don't know the situation, i don't care).

Anyways.

So she is staring at me as I am working on some dude's teeth, and as with so many of her questions, she starts off as such;

Extern: umm...can I ask you a question?
Me: no. (five second pause) okay, now you can.
E: umm...are your parents proud of you?

Seriously?!????!!!? She asks me the stupidest questions. It really annoys me. I should be honored or something by it, but she has been with us 6 weeks now, and the newness of it all should be over with.

Me: no. They hate what I do. They disowned me the moment I said I was going to dental school.
E: (awkward silence, at least 20 seconds) really??
Me: yep. I haven't talked to them in years. They are disappointed in me. They wanted me to be a farmer and I ruined it.
E: (I know she is just staring but I won't look up. More silence) you're just kidding right?
Me: nope. It's true. Sucks. Ask M (main asst), she knows everything about me.

I later tell a couple of the girls who have been there a long time now about that conversation. They crack up. We are all like come on, THAT is your question?? She asks me a bunch of things like that. Like "does your family like what you do?" ugh it makes me want to vomit. Later on, she is assisting me again, and M is around too. So I say, "hey M, E was asking if my parents are proud of me. I said no," and E was like "I know you are lying!" M jumped in and said, "no, she hasn't talked to them in a long time. They wanted her to be a farmer."

I love my girls.

7:04 a.m. - 2012-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
lanienaked
puresunsh1ne
deflective
enurta
lostasyou
journalmine
opposure
goose-girl
alethia
duplicitous
hematidrosis
ericg
permeation
starscream77
avantbedroc
raygirl999
athenyx
sntheticlove
omfggwtf
ninabean
newschick
evilyoyo
simeons-twin
warpednormal
fragilegirl8
cloudy-night
englishsucks